Patanjali Yoga Sutras- The Doorway to Liberation and Nirvana

Patanjali Yoga Sutra

Around 400 years ago an enlightened sage Patanjali considered as an incarnation of Anantha a thousand headed serpent on whom rests Lord Vishnu, prepared the encyclopedia on the way of life. Our body is machinery that acts as per the directions of mind. To detoxify our mind and bring clarity in our vision of thought, Patanjali devised a rule book that teaches us life skills in the form of aphorisms-Yoga Sutras in Sanskrit with 196 verses which is the foundation of Ashtanga yoga. Each sutra has profound meaning that explains our inner and outer world at length. It is divided into 4 parts:

yoga courses

1. Samadhi Pada (51 sutras): 

Meaning of yoga and a brief description of obstacles in attaining enlightenment, importance of yoga, practice, restraining vrittis and detachment.

2. Sadhana Pada (55 sutras):

This part explains the practice of yoga , comprehensive look into the kleshas  or obstacles and the outcomes of practice. It outlines the six out of Eight limbs of yoga- Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara and Dharana.

3. Vibhuti Pada(56 sutras): 

Explains the last two limbs of yoga being Dhyana and Samadhi alongwith Samayama which is practicing the last three limbs simultaneously- Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi reaching the pinnacle of enlightenment.

4. Kaivalya Pada( 34 Sutras):

Elaborates the meaning of Kaivalya –liberation/Moksha Where we connect with the almighty, detach from every relation and feeling liberating the soul towards pure consciousness.

Thus Patanjali Sutras is a systematic guide to aklishtha state that leads to pure consciousness.

Here we got some beautiful Patanjali Sutra chanting by Chitra Ganesh. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here